Before filing for divorce, one of the spouses must be a resident of Texas for a continuous six months and in the county where the divorce is filed for 90 days. Meeting these requirements gives the Court jurisdiction over your divorce case.
Texas is a “no fault” state which means that you can file for divorce on “no fault” grounds. If one party wants to get divorced that is enough to initiate the divorce process. No one has to prove that the other spouse did anything wrong in order to get divorced. While no fault divorce grounds exist in Texas you can also allege fault grounds. If you are able to prove that some is at fault under one of the fault grounds in Texas this can have an impact on the division of community property.
If you are considering divorce, you should consult with a lawyer to ask specific questions about your case. Also, you should gather all documents and evidence you have before filing. Particularly financial information, bank statements, etc.
In Texas after filing the petition for the divorce, the parties must wait 60 days before the divorce can be finalized, even if both parties agree to the divorce. If you have questions about the divorce process contact the Recalde Law Firm, PLLC to schedule your initial consultation.